Foreman’s Massacre Remembered

Foreman's Massacre Memorial
Foreman’s Massacre Memorial

The Fort Henry Chapter and the Wheeling Chapter, DAR presented a memorial service on September 1, 2017 at the Foreman’s Massacre monument in McMechen, WV to mark the 240th anniversary of the event. Participating were McMechen mayor Gregg Wolfe, Central District VPG Robert B. Fish, Jr., WVSSAR president Bill Lester, Debi Smith, regent, Wheeling DAR and Jay Frey, president Fort Henry Chapter. Special guests included descendants of Foreman’s company including compatriots Donald Brown (Capt. James Neal Chapter) and Rick Greathouse (Daniel Boone Chapter). Twelve color guardsmen representing WVSSAR chapters Daniel Boone, Fort Henry, Capt. James Neal, Point Pleasant and Capt. Ralph Stewart together with Ebenezer Zane Chapter, OHSSAR and George Washington Chapter, PASSAR presented the colors and fired a musket salute. Wreaths were presented at the monument. Continue reading “Foreman’s Massacre Remembered”

WVSSAR BoM Meeting

A reminder that the WVSSAR Board of Management meeting will be held on September 9, 2017 from 9:30am until 12:00pm at the Econ-O-Lodge located at Beckley WV.

1909 Harper Road (WV Route 3)
Beckley, WV 25801

directions to the Econ-O-Lodge at Beckley WV:
From the north on I-77 (TP), take the Beckley Exit #44 and then turn right and the motel is .5 miles on right. If travelling south, take Exit #44 and turn left and the motel is .6 miles on right.

Google map of Econ-O-Lodge at Beckley WV

additional information from Joe Khare:

The WVSSAR Board of Managers (BOM) will meet on Saturday, September 9, 2017 at the Econ-o-Lodge, 1909 Harper Road (WV Route 3), Beckley, WV, from 9:30 a.m. to 12:00 noon. A lot of business will be discussed at this meeting so maximum participation is encouraged.

Chapter Presidents are asked to provide a chapter activity report that covers the period since the last BOM meeting in April. They are encouraged to attend the meeting or send a representative. However, if no one from their chapter will attend, they should e-mail Joe Khare, WVSSAR Secretary-Treasurer, at their chapter report before the meeting.

SAR Congress 2017 Photos

Compatriot Jay Frey has provided these two photos taken at the SAR Congress 2017.

SAR Congress 2017 WVSSAR Minuteman Awards
Newly inducted Minutemen awardees Lance Carter, Jack Coles, their wives and PG Mike Tomme
SAR Congress 2017 Youth Education Streamer Awards
Steve Hart is pictured with other recipients of the Youth Education streamer awardees