National Flag Day Proclamation 2017

Flag Day Proclamation 22 May 2017
National Flag Day
June 14, 2017

June 14th, is National Flag Day, a day when Americans celebrate the meaning of their nation’s flag, honor the traditions associated with its care, and educate those around them to its significance. The Flag of the United States is to be honored and carries with it both history and traditions. There are three Flag Acts which are laws that sought to define the design of the flag of the United States.

Flag Act of 1777
On June 14, 1777, in order to establish an Official flag for the new nation, the Second Continental Congress passed the first Flag Act: “Resolved, That the flag of the United States be made of thirteen stripes, alternate red and white; that the union be thirteen stars, white in a blue field, representing a new Constellation.”

Flag Act of 1794
The Flag Act of 1794 was signed into law by President George Washington on January 13, 1794. It changed the design of the flag to accommodate the admission into the Union of the states Vermont and Kentucky. It provided for fifteen stripes as well as fifteen stars. This would be the only official flag of the United States not to have thirteen stripes.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress Assembled, That from and after the first day of May, Anno Domini, one thousand seven hundred and ninety-five, the flag of the United States, be fifteen stripes alternate red and white. That the Union be fifteen starts, white in a blue field.

Flag Act of 1818
The Flag Act of 1818 was enacted by Congress on April 4, 1818. It provided for the modern rule of having thirteen stripes to represent the original thirteen colonies and having the number of stars match the number of states. It also provided that subsequent changes in the number of stars be made on July 4, Independence Day.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of American, in Congress assembled, That from and after the fourth day of July next, the flag of the United States be thirteen horizontal stripes, alternate red and white: that the union be twenty starts, white in a blue field.

And be it further enacted, That on the admission of every new state into the Union, one star be added to the union of the flag, and that such additional shall take effect of the fourth day of July then next succeeding such admission.

On May 30, 1916, President Woodrow Wilson called for the nation-wide observance of Flag Day. In 1949, President Harry S. Truman signed congress’ decree, making June 14th of each year National Flag Day. In 1966, Congress requested that the president issue annually a proclamation designing the week in which June 14 occurs as National Flag Week.

Flag Day is a time when American reflect on the foundation of the nation’s freedom. The flag of the United States represents freedom and has been an enduring symbol of the country’s ideals since its early days. Americans also remember their loyalty to the nation, reaffirm their beliefs in liberty and justice, and observe the nation’s unity.

So, remember to raise your United States flag high on June 14th, and pay tribute to the symbol which means so much to all of us—our nation’s flag.

Yours in Patriotism,
J. Michael Tomme, Sr.
President General 2016-2017
National Society Sons of the American Revolution