Fort Henry Days, September 4 and 5, 2021

Fort Henry Days will be held from 10:00 to 5:00 daily on Saturday, September 4 and Sunday, the 5th at Site One, Oglebay Park in Wheeling.

As in the past color guardsmen are invited to participate in presenting the colors at the 3:00 reenactment of the siege of Fort Henry. The color guard musters at 2:00.

For a full calendar of events, please click on this link:

Turley Nominated for Vice President General, Central District

The WVSSAR Nominating Committee has recommended WVSSAR President John A. Turley, MD of Charleston for the position of Vice President General of the Central District. A confirmation vote of the nomination will be held in the Board of Management’s Special Meeting on October 9. If confirmed, the WVSSAR’s proposed candidate will be subject to  approval by the Central District Board of Management, consisting of representatives of the West Virginia, Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana State Societies. Final approval will be confirmed at the NSSAR Congress in 2022. 

Battle Days 2021 Cancelled

Out of an abundance of caution the Point Pleasant Chapter, WVSSAR has cancelled in person events for the 247th anniversary of the Battle of Point Pleasant.

A virtual memorial service and wreath laying ceremony is being considered. As details become available they will be posted.

Fall 2021 Board of Management and Special meeting

The Fall Board of Management meeting will be held Saturday, October 9, 2021 at 10:00 am at the Flatwoods Days Inn Conference Center.
At 10:00 o’clock we will convene a special state meeting with a single agenda item of electing a new nominee for Central District Vice President General. Upon conclusion of the election, we will immediately adjourn and convene our previously scheduled Board of Management meeting.
Please let us know if you plan to attend by September 15th. 
State officers, chapters and committees please have your reports in to the state secretary, Compatriot Cox, ( by October 1st.

Compatriots Honored by NSSAR

Former WVSSAR state president Steven Hart has won the prestigious Stewart Boone McCarthy award this year. 

This award is in recognition of his hard work in the preservation of United States history and the encouragement of its teaching in our schools.  Compatriot Hart has long been a strong advocate of SAR youth outreach programs and is well deserving of this honor.

Thanks to the hard work of state registrar Louis Ruf, the West Virginia Society has won the Genealogist General’s award for being one of the top three states with the lowest percentage of pended applications.

2021 Annual Awards Dinner, April 23

The Captain James Neal Chapter invites you to attend the WVSSAR Annual Awards Dinner, Friday, April 23, 2021 at 6:00 pm at the Parkersburg Country Club, 4910 First Avenue, Vienna, West Virginia. The Board of Management will hold a brief meeting at 5:30. Please make your reservations by April 19: Annual Awards Dinner Reservation (1)

A block of rooms has been reserved at the Wingate Motel at 1502 Grand Central Avenue, Vienna, WV at $ 98.00 per night. The Wingate is located about seven minutes from the Parkersburg Country Club. Rooms include a free breakfast and free WIFI. To reserve, call 304-295-5504 and please mention the block name of Sons of the American Revolution.  Our block will be released on April 17, so please call promptly.

On Saturday, April 24, the Board of Management will meet at 10:00 at the Parkersburg Country Club.

Questions? Please contact Ted Cox at (304) 464-5092.

2021 Nominations

At the WVSSAR Board of Management meeting on March 27, 2021 the Nominating Committee presented the slate of officers and directors for the forthcoming election at the annual meeting on April 24, 2021:

President:  John A. Turley, MD

1st Vice President:  Rhendal C. Butler

2nd Vice President:  Martin L. Keesecker

Secretary/Treasurer: Harold T. Cox, Jr.

Registrar: Henry Louis Ruf III

Chancellor: William W. Booker

Historian:  Douglas Wayne Harvey

Chaplain:  Lynn A. Halstead

Board of Management (Terms Ending 2024)

  1. Richard C. Schoening
  2. (no candidate nominated)

Color Guard Commander: Edward A. Cromley IV

Editor, WVSSAR News: Thomas J. Galloway

National Trustee: Harold T. Cox, Jr.

WVSSAR Nominating Committee (Terms ending in 2023)

  1. Ira Cook, Jr.
  2. James Paul Chapman

The Nominating Committee members serving in 2021 are Robert B. Fish, Jr., chairman, Edward A. Cromley IV, Douglas Wayne Harvey and Thomas J. Galloway.

Call for Volunteers Boy Scout Jamboree, 2021


The SAR National Eagle Scout Committee will have a booth at the 2021 National Boy Scout Jamboree. The jamboree will take place at the Summit, situated in the wilds of West Virginia, at Glen Jean.

We will need compatriots to man the booth. We need at least 25 volunteers, so we can have 3 people each day. The jamboree is July 21 – 30, 2021.

If you are interested in volunteering, please contact Compatriot Harold T. (Ted) Cox, Jr., president Captain James Neal Chapter, (304) 464-5902.

DAR Finder Form

A member of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) may receive the SAR Appreciation Medal for referring at least five new SAR members.  The count will be maintained by use of the DAR Finder Form.  The form is provided here for your use.

WVSSAR chapters are encouraged to submit the DAR Finder Form with SAR applications when DAR members refer candidates for SAR membership.  For additional information, please contact Frank C. “Joe” Khare, WVSSAR DAR Liaison, at or (304) 876-3817.

You can download a copy of the DAR Finder Form from HERE