Compatriots Honored by NSSAR

Former WVSSAR state president Steven Hart has won the prestigious Stewart Boone McCarthy award this year. 

This award is in recognition of his hard work in the preservation of United States history and the encouragement of its teaching in our schools.  Compatriot Hart has long been a strong advocate of SAR youth outreach programs and is well deserving of this honor.

Thanks to the hard work of state registrar Louis Ruf, the West Virginia Society has won the Genealogist General’s award for being one of the top three states with the lowest percentage of pended applications.

2021 Annual Awards Dinner, April 23

The Captain James Neal Chapter invites you to attend the WVSSAR Annual Awards Dinner, Friday, April 23, 2021 at 6:00 pm at the Parkersburg Country Club, 4910 First Avenue, Vienna, West Virginia. The Board of Management will hold a brief meeting at 5:30. Please make your reservations by April 19: Annual Awards Dinner Reservation (1)

A block of rooms has been reserved at the Wingate Motel at 1502 Grand Central Avenue, Vienna, WV at $ 98.00 per night. The Wingate is located about seven minutes from the Parkersburg Country Club. Rooms include a free breakfast and free WIFI. To reserve, call 304-295-5504 and please mention the block name of Sons of the American Revolution.  Our block will be released on April 17, so please call promptly.

On Saturday, April 24, the Board of Management will meet at 10:00 at the Parkersburg Country Club.

Questions? Please contact Ted Cox at (304) 464-5092.

2021 Nominations

At the WVSSAR Board of Management meeting on March 27, 2021 the Nominating Committee presented the slate of officers and directors for the forthcoming election at the annual meeting on April 24, 2021:

President:  John A. Turley, MD

1st Vice President:  Rhendal C. Butler

2nd Vice President:  Martin L. Keesecker

Secretary/Treasurer: Harold T. Cox, Jr.

Registrar: Henry Louis Ruf III

Chancellor: William W. Booker

Historian:  Douglas Wayne Harvey

Chaplain:  Lynn A. Halstead

Board of Management (Terms Ending 2024)

  1. Richard C. Schoening
  2. (no candidate nominated)

Color Guard Commander: Edward A. Cromley IV

Editor, WVSSAR News: Thomas J. Galloway

National Trustee: Harold T. Cox, Jr.

WVSSAR Nominating Committee (Terms ending in 2023)

  1. Ira Cook, Jr.
  2. James Paul Chapman

The Nominating Committee members serving in 2021 are Robert B. Fish, Jr., chairman, Edward A. Cromley IV, Douglas Wayne Harvey and Thomas J. Galloway.

Call for Volunteers Boy Scout Jamboree, 2021


The SAR National Eagle Scout Committee will have a booth at the 2021 National Boy Scout Jamboree. The jamboree will take place at the Summit, situated in the wilds of West Virginia, at Glen Jean.

We will need compatriots to man the booth. We need at least 25 volunteers, so we can have 3 people each day. The jamboree is July 21 – 30, 2021.

If you are interested in volunteering, please contact Compatriot Harold T. (Ted) Cox, Jr., president Captain James Neal Chapter, (304) 464-5902.

WVSSAR Newsletter Fall 2017

The WVSSAR Newsletter Fall 2017 edition is now available.

Our most sincere thanks and appreciation to Tom Galloway, the WVSSAR Newsletter Editor, for his dedication and excellent work that he always performs with the publishing of our West Virginia Society SAR Newsletter. Tom is also the President of the General Andrew Lewis Chapter WVSSAR.

You can view and download the WVSSAR Newsletter Fall 2017 edition HERE

Foreman’s Massacre Remembered

Foreman's Massacre Memorial
Foreman’s Massacre Memorial

The Fort Henry Chapter and the Wheeling Chapter, DAR presented a memorial service on September 1, 2017 at the Foreman’s Massacre monument in McMechen, WV to mark the 240th anniversary of the event. Participating were McMechen mayor Gregg Wolfe, Central District VPG Robert B. Fish, Jr., WVSSAR president Bill Lester, Debi Smith, regent, Wheeling DAR and Jay Frey, president Fort Henry Chapter. Special guests included descendants of Foreman’s company including compatriots Donald Brown (Capt. James Neal Chapter) and Rick Greathouse (Daniel Boone Chapter). Twelve color guardsmen representing WVSSAR chapters Daniel Boone, Fort Henry, Capt. James Neal, Point Pleasant and Capt. Ralph Stewart together with Ebenezer Zane Chapter, OHSSAR and George Washington Chapter, PASSAR presented the colors and fired a musket salute. Wreaths were presented at the monument. Continue reading “Foreman’s Massacre Remembered”